MATT LEE COMES TO TOWN

Santa visited me early this year and left the one-and-only Matt Lee! He arrived on a Wednesday and sadly left the following Friday. It was such a blessing to have him here, and I enjoyed showing him around campus and Reutlingen. I even took him to some of my classes. But, it sort of backfired when one of my professors decided to split the class up into groups by counting off. I quickly tried to say Matt’s number and mine right after it, hoping that no one would notice that Matt didn’t know what was happening since the class was in German. To avoid the group work, Matt secretly “went to the bathroom” and worked in the hallway the rest of the class.

From Friday to Sunday, Matt and I visited Munich. The first thing we did was climb to the top of St. Peter’s Church, which had a great view of the city, but since we hadn’t dropped our stuff off yet, Matt had to lug his 25 lb suitcase up the 306 steps. Everyone we passed would either look at Matt in shock or laugh at him. Afterwards, we walked through the Viktualienmarkt, the city center, and saw the Hofbräuhaus. On Saturday, we took the train to Füssen in order to see Schloss Neuschwanstein, which Disney’s Sleeping Beauty castle was inspired by. King Ludwig II of Bavaria commissioned the palace in 1869, but he mysteriously died during its construction so it was never finished. Matt and I rode a horse and carriage up to the castle and then took a tour of the inside. Ludwig clearly had an obsession with swans. The doorhandles, his sink faucet, and even his air vaporizer were in the shape of a swan. Ludwig also built one of his personal rooms to look like an actually cave…so he literally had a man cave. After the tour, we hiked to Mary’s bridge (Marienbrücke), which gave us a great view of the castle. On Sunday, we went sightseeing all around Munich. We went to the Cuvilliés-Theater, walked through the Englischer Garten, and wandered around the rest of the city. We also discovered a new water sport for the Crawley family…check out the pictures below to see the surfers.

When we got back from Munich, Matt and I saw the new Hunger Games movie at the Reutlingen cinema. One thing that is different from American movie theaters is that you have to reserve your specific seat number with your movie ticket. We also went to the middle ages Christmas market in Esslingen and  tried Glühwein (hot red wine) for the first time. For my birthday, we hiked up Achalm together to eat at the restaurant at the top, which has a great view over Reutlingen. To celebrate Thanksgiving, the university hosts a small gathering for the Americans, Mexicans, and German students, who will be studying in the U.S. The meal was actually quite good and even had some eclectic side dishes like crepes and spring rolls.

Overall, it was a wonderful visit from Matt and I was sad to see him go. After he left, I had to finish a 10-page paper on target costing for my accounting class. It was a major feat, but I am glad that it is over with. I am still searching for an internship, but I expect to hear back from one next week with whom I had a 2nd interview. I hope all is well with you, and I can’t wait to come home for Christmas break in two weeks!

 

Leave a Reply

